Four Flags


Four Flags is a temporary project to support artists in this period of isolation and to promote art in public space. The goal of Four Flags is to present physical art at the time when the focus is put on virtual art experience. If the visitors cannot come inside, the art has to come outside. 

Four Flags is an initiative of Julia Mullié and Nick Terra from Amsterdam. They came up with the idea one day while enjoying the sun on the windowsill of their house in Amsterdam, when their gaze rested on the flag-holder attached to the facade of their house. It was launched on April 15 in Amsterdam. Each week, two new flags are going to be introduced to the public, and in total, 30 artists were invited to design a flag. For the element of surprise, the participating artists are only announced once their flag has been hung. 

Four Flags is coming to Belgium

At the initiative of collector Siska Bulkens and curator Louis-Philippe Van Eeckhoutte, in the coming weeks, the flags will travel to a number of non-profits organisations in Belgium.

We hope to bring the art experience back to its essence, to close the gap in the digital art experience, to stimulate art lovers and to maintain the focus on non-profits. The collaboration between the initiators, the artists, the non-profits, the curators, and the collectors embodies a sense of collectivity for now and for the future, state the organisers.

From the 30th of April until the 31st of July, new flags will be presented weekly at Netwerk Aalst, Aalst; Be-Part, Waregem; Kunsthal, Ghent; AAIR, Antwerp; CIAP, Genk; KIOSK, Ghent; La Loge, Brussels, and CC Strombeek, Grimbergen. 

Week 1: 30.04–06.05
Kasper Bosmans (°1990, BE) 

Week 2: 07.05–13.05 
DAS INSTITUT: Kerstin Brätsch (°1979, Germany) & Adele Röder (°1980, Germany).

Week 3: 14.05–20.05 
Juliette Blightman (°1980, UK) 

Week 4: 21.05–27.05 
Anna-Sophie Berger (°1989, AT), Evelyn Taocheng Wang (°1981, CN) 

Week 5: 28.05–05.06  
Maria Roosen (°1957, NL), Raquel van Haver (°1989, CO) en Ana Mazzei (°1979, BR).

Week 6: 06.06-12.06
Jennifer Tee (°1973, NL), Dora Budor (°1984, HR), Benjamin Hirte (°1980, DE)

Week 7: 13.06-19.06
Antonis Pittas (°1973,GR), Lena Henke (°1982, DE), Vanessa da Silva (BR)

Week 8: 20.06-26.06
Willem De Rooij (°1969, NL), Philippe Guffler (°1989, DE), Adriano Amaral  (°1982, BR), en Cemfreio.

Week 9: 25.06-01.07
Dieter Durinck (BE), Rodrigo Hernandez (°1983, MX), Magali Reus (°1981, NL) en Dudu Santos (°1943, BR)

Week 10: 02.07-08.07
Andrés Matias Pinilla (°1988, CO), Luiza Crosman (°1987, BR), Dabin Ahn (°1988 KR/US), Cibelle Cavalli Bastos (°1978, BR)

Week 11: 09.07-15.07
Iñaki Chavarri (°1982, ES), Daniel Salamanca (°1983, CO), Mika Horibuchi (°1991 US), Kelly Akashi (°1983, US).

Week 12: 16.07-22.07
Ricardo Basbaum  (°1961, BR), Michael x Ryan  (°1956, US), Dan Rizzo-Orr  (°1989, US), Bruno Baptistelli  (°1985, BR).


Four Flags can be followed online via the instagram account @ fourflags2020.